Committees of the Board of Directors

As at 28 April 2021, the Getlink's Board of Directors is organised into 4 specialised Committees whose members were selected with regard to their skills, expertises and experiences, for them to make an efficient and informed contribution to the works of the Committees in which they participate.

Composition and responsibilities of the Board of Directors’ Committees

Audit Committee

The Audit Committee is composed of 5 members, including Colette Lewiner (Chairwoman) with an independence rate of 80%. The Committee met 5 times in 2020 and its attendance rate was of 100%.

All members of the Committee have specific financial and accounting skills. The main duties of the Committee are to monitor the process of preparation of the financial and accounting information, to ensure the statutory audit of the financial statements by the statutory auditors, to monitor the effectiveness of internal control and risk management systems as well as the independence of the statutory auditors.

The Audit Committee meets at least 4 times a year when meetings are called by its Chair.

Nomination and Remuneration Committee

The Nomination and Remuneration Committee is composed of 5 members, including Perrette Rey (Chairwoman) and represents a 100% independence rate.

The main missions of the Committee in these two areas consist mainly in:

  • making recommendations to the Board of Directors in particular for the selection of new directors, assessing the size and composition of the Board and identifying the persons with the appropriate qualities to join the Board.
  • preparing the remuneration of executive officers before approval by the Board by reviewing the financial and operational objective criteria, working on arrangements to link the remuneration of employees and of management to the business’s performance.

In 2020, the Committee met at least twice with an attendance rate of 100%.

Ethics and CSR Committee

In 2020, the Ethics and CSR Committee met twice with a 89% attendance rate.

In 2021, the Ethics and CSR Committee is composed of 6 members, including Patricia Hewitt (Chairwoman) who has been appointed Environment and Climate Lead Director. Its independence rate is of 83%.

On 28 April 2021, the Ethics and CSR Committee merged with the Economic regulations monitoring Committee. It considers all questions concerning governance and the strategic and environmental orientation of the Group and reports on these to the Board. It considers in particular the organisation’s work on the CSR policy, the gender equality action plan, progress in the preparation of the environment and climate strategy and the definition of intermediate objectives for 2023 as well as the Non-Financial Performance Statement.

Safety and Security Committee

In 2020, the Committee met 5 times with a 100% attendance rate.

As at 28 April 2021, the Safety and Security Committee is composed of 8 members, including Jean-Pierre Trotignon (Chairman) and its independence rate is 67%.

This Committee is tasked with monitoring safety and security issues within each sector of activity of the Group. it includes to monitor individual and collective safety and performance indicators for the corresponding action plans as well as workplace accident indicators and all questions relating to rail safety for Eurotunnel and Europorte and to the ElecLink project.

The Board Committees in figures

Committees of the Board with complementary expertise in 2021


Board Committee meetings in total in 2020


Board Committees chaired by women in 2021

Additional information
Board of Directors of Getlink

The Board of Directors determines the strategic orientation of the company and controls its implementation. Read more on its composition, its members and activity.

More information
2020 Universal Registration Document

The Chapter 4 of the Universal Registration Document includes the components of the corporate governance report of Getlink SE.

More information